When you are doing business in the U.S., whether you’re a business or franchise owner, or if you are an employee working in Wyoming, it is crucial to understand and know the minimum wage law and, subsequently, your rights when it comes to your minimum wage rate. Whether it is paying employees, or being paid yourself – let’s take a look at the minimum wage in Wyoming.

There’s an awful lot you have to keep track of when knowing how much to legally pay workers, or be paid yourself, especially as some states have started to increase their minimum wage multiple times in a calendar year.

Every state has a specific minimum wage, most are measured via the consumer price index. However, there are still many states that use the federal minimum wage of $7.25 per hour as a measure of what workers can be paid at a minimum.

Hold On!

If you would like to see the history of the minimum wage in Wyoming over the past 10+ years, we have created a bar graph showing you the minimum wage each year and also a convenient PDF you can download. It is located at the bottom of this page.

Although the minimum wage in Wyoming is only $5.15 per hour, the majority of employees in the state will be covered by the FLSA (Fair Labor Standards Act), meaning they will be paid a minimum of $7.25 p/hr (federal minimum wage) or higher.

Did the Wyoming Minimum Wage Go Up?

The graphic below highlights the Wyoming minimum wage over the past several years. The minimum wage did not go up and remains at $7.25 per hour in 2021.

Minimum Wage in Wyoming

Wyoming Minimum Wage 2021

The Wyoming minimum wage 2021 hasn’t increased from the previous year, in fact, it hasn’t increased since 2009 when the federal minimum wage last increased. Most employers will have to abide by the minimum wage set for the state for all employees that they plan to pay minimum wage to.

So far there have been no talks of a Wyoming minimum wage increase in the future to surpass the federal wage of $7.25 per hour, and there have been no signs of an impending federal minimum wage increase either. Wyoming has the joint lowest minimum wage in the nation.

The Wyoming Department of Workforce Services enforces the minimum wage in Wyoming – $7.25 per hour. The Workforce Standards Division is responsible for the Workers Compensation Program as well as regulatory and compliance/enforcement. Which includes Workers Compensation Claims and Employer Services, Workers Compensation Safety and Risk (WCSR) and Wyoming Occupation Safety and Health Administration (OSHA), Labor Standards, and Employment Tax.

Should you have any concerns, questions, or need clarity on the Wyoming minimum wage law in 2020 as an employer or employee, feel free to visit their website and make an inquiry. Also, you can download a free Wyoming labor law poster here for your reference, these are great to have for Wyoming employers who wish to familiarize their employees and themselves on the minimum wage.

The minimum wage is the lowest hourly, daily, or monthly wage that businesses may legally pay to employees or workers. However, in some industries and age groups, employers may be able to pay their employees a lower Wyoming minimum wage in 2021 which is offset by tips or due to other circumstances as follows:

  • As a tipped employee, you must be paid a tipped minimum wage of $2.13 per hour if you earn over $30 in tips per month. However, tipped workers must earn enough money from tips to equal the minimum wage when added to the wage of $2.13 per hour.
  • Student-workers in full-time education can be paid a minimum of 85% of the minimum wage in Wyoming, this works out as an hourly wage of $6.16 per hour.
  • Wyoming has issued a “training wage” for those who are 20 years or under and are in their first 90 days of employment. This is equal to $4.25 per hour. After the 90 day period is over, you will be paid the regular minimum wage.
  • Overtime pay in Wyoming is reasonable, and the higher minimum wage of $10.88 per hour must be paid to employees who are working over 40 hours a week according to Wyoming law. This higher wage is only able to be paid for up to 40 hours of overtime per week.

Wyoming Minimum Wage History

The following table shows the Wyoming Minimum Wage History since 1983. It also includes the dollar increase and the percentage increase to the minimum wage in Wyoming for each year.

StateWageYear$ Wage Increase% Increase
Wyoming Minimum Wage 2021$7.252021$00%
Wyoming Minimum Wage 2020$7.252020$00%
Wyoming Minimum Wage 2019$7.252019$00%
Wyoming Minimum Wage 2018$7.252018$00%
Wyoming Minimum Wage 2017$7.252017$00%
Wyoming Minimum Wage 2016$7.252016$00%
Wyoming Minimum Wage 2015$7.252015$00%
Wyoming Minimum Wage 2014$7.252014$00%
Wyoming Minimum Wage 2013$7.252013$00%
Wyoming Minimum Wage 2012$7.252012$00%
Wyoming Minimum Wage 2011$7.252011$00%
Wyoming Minimum Wage 2010$7.252010$00%
Wyoming Minimum Wage 2009$7.252009$0.7011%
Wyoming Minimum Wage 2008$6.552008$1.4027.18%
Wyoming Minimum Wage 2007$5.152007$00%
Wyoming Minimum Wage 2006$5.152006$00%
Wyoming Minimum Wage 2005$5.152005$00%
Wyoming Minimum Wage 2004$5.152004$00%
Wyoming Minimum Wage 2003$5.152003$00%
Wyoming Minimum Wage 2002$5.152002$00%
Wyoming Minimum Wage 2001$5.152001$3.55221.8%
Wyoming Minimum Wage 2000$1.602000$00%
Wyoming Minimum Wage 1999$1.601999$00%
Wyoming Minimum Wage 1998$1.601998$00%
Wyoming Minimum Wage 1997$1.601997$00%
Wyoming Minimum Wage 1996$1.601996$00%
Wyoming Minimum Wage 1995$1.601995$00%
Wyoming Minimum Wage 1994$1.601994$00%
Wyoming Minimum Wage 1993$1.601993$00%
Wyoming Minimum Wage 1992$1.601992$00%
Wyoming Minimum Wage 1991$1.601991$00%
Wyoming Minimum Wage 1990$1.601990$00%
Wyoming Minimum Wage 1989$1.601989$00%
Wyoming Minimum Wage 1988$1.601988$00%
Wyoming Minimum Wage 1987$1.601987$00%
Wyoming Minimum Wage 1986$1.601986$00%
Wyoming Minimum Wage 1985$1.601985$00%
Wyoming Minimum Wage 1984$1.601984$00%
Wyoming Minimum Wage 1983$1.601983$00%

Wyoming minimum wage history for more than 10 years – downloadable PDF below

Wyoming Minimum Wage History

Wyoming Minimum Wage History – Downloadable PDF