Texas State Minimum Wage 2024

Author: Jason Coles

Updated On:

Updated On:

In 2024, Texas’ state minimum wage has remained the same as years gone by, it follows the federal minimum wage currently sitting at $7.25 per hour.

As most US states increase their minimum wage rate per year, Texas refuses to do so. The hourly rate of $7.25 has been the ongoing minimum wage in Texas for over 10 years, since 2009.

The graphic below highlights the Texas minimum wage over the past several years. The minimum wage did not go up and remains at $7.25 per hour in 2024.

Texas minimum wage

If you are a full-time worker on minimum wage in Texas, your earnings could be as follows:

  • Weekly Minimum Wage: $290 (based on a 40-hour week).
  • Yearly Minimum Wage: $15,080 (based on being paid 52 weeks per year.
  • There is a 0% income tax rate in Texas, but you are still subject to taxes on your earnings.

You can view and download the Texas minimum wage labor law poster for 2024 here at no charge. Employers must display an official poster outlining the requirements of the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA), ensuring that accurate employee time and pay records are kept.

Texas Minimum Wage History

The table below shows the Texas minimum wage over the years. There have been no material changes to the minimum wage in Texas since 2009 when it increased from $6.55 per hour to $7.25 per hour.

The Texas minimum wage history does not seem to look much different to its future as there are no immediate plans to increase the minimum wage in the state, and the federal minimum wage rate remains the same, also, at $7.25 per hour.

YearMinimum WageIncrease ($)Increase (%)
2024$7.25$00%
2023$7.25$00%
2022$7.25$00%
2021$7.25$00%
2020$7.25$00%
2019$7.25$00%
2018$7.25$00%
2017$7.25$00%
2016$7.25$00%
2015$7.25$00%
2014$7.25$00%
2013$7.25$00%
2012$7.25$00%
2011$7.25$00%
2010$7.25$00%
2009$7.25$0.7010.6%
2008$6.55$00%
2007$6.55$0.7011.96%
2006$5.85$0.7013.59%
2005$5.15$00%
2004$5.15$00%
2003$5.15$00%
2002$5.15$053.73%
2001$3.35$00%
2000$3.35$00%
1999$3.35$00%
1998$3.35$00%
1997$3.35$00%
1996$3.35$00%
1995$3.35$00%
1994$3.35$00%
1993$3.35$00%
1992$3.35$00%
1991$3.35$00%
1990$3.35$00%
1989$3.35$00%
1988$3.35$00%
1987$3.35$1.95139.28%
1986$1.40$00%
1985$1.40$00%
1984$1.40$00%
1983$1.40$00%

This is not necessarily bad news for Texas employees as the number of workers that are being paid the minimum wage has reduced considerably from 2012 to 2017 (latest available data).

In 2012, Texas had 452,000 workers making the minimum wage or less, according to federal data. By 2017, that number had fallen to 196,000, despite a slight increase in hourly workers.

An advantage that Texas has is that the income tax rate in the state is 0%. So, if you are earning the Texas minimum wage of $7.25 per hour, your gross annual pay for a full-time position of 40 hours per week would typically be $15,080.04, and you would pay no income tax in Texas on this.

Texas Minimum Wage News

The minimum wage is seemingly always a hot topic, with things changing and new laws coming into play what feels like all the time, we have created a news section to update you on the latest news happening with Texas’ minimum wage.

  • Plano Labelled Least Affordable City: For minimum wage workers residing in Texas, it might be a good idea to avoid moving to Plano for work and residency! This is due to the city being labeled the least affordable for those working under a minimum wage salary.
  • Travis County Increase: The minimum wage for employees working in Travis County has seen their minimum wage rate increase from $15 per hour to a staggering $20 per hour! This increase is over $10 higher than the statewide minimum wage rate.
  • El Paso Increase but Unrest: El Paso has increased the minimum wage for employees to $12.11 per hour, a 50 cents increase from the prior year. However, many residents of the city still believe this is not enough of an increase when you consider the cost of living and overall inflation rising the prices of almost everything!

Texas Minimum Wage Exemptions

In addition to the regular minimum wage rate, there are a few Texas state minimum wage exemptions that typically depend on your age or employment situation. Below are the various minimum wage exemptions with some situational examples.

Texas Student Minimum Wage

The minimum wage for student employees in Texas is 85% of the Texas minimum wage, making their hourly pay $6.16 per hour in 2024.

This hourly rate is for any hours worked up to 20 hours per week. As a student employee, once you surpass 20 hours per week, you will be eligible to be paid the Texas minimum wage rate of $7.25 per hour.

Being a student can be financially challenging, leading many students to pick up part-time jobs to make extra money while studying. Despite a student minimum wage rate, many Texas employers will not necessarily follow it and pay you equal to or more than the statewide minimum wage.

Many work-study programs are available at universities, which is a route many students go down. Still, coffee shop, cafe, bar, and restaurant jobs are commonly taken by students as they can work them into their class schedule.

Texas Under 20 Minimum Wage

If you are under 20 years old in Texas, federal law allows your employer to pay you as little as $4.25 per hour for your first 90 days of employment.

Once the 90-day period is over, you will be eligible to be paid the 2024 Texas minimum wage of $7.25 per hour or potentially even more.

Fortunately for young workers, this is 90 calendar days and not 90 working days; therefore, it can be completed relatively quickly and within about three months.

Texas Tipped Minimum Wage

If you are a tipped employee in Texas (someone who receives regular tips as a part of their job) then you are eligible to be paid a minimum wage of $2.13 per hour, with a tip credit of $5.12 per hour, ensuring that you reach the statewide minimum wage regardless if you make enough hourly tips.

Texas Overtime Minimum Wage

Once you work over 40 hours in a working week you are eligible to be paid an overtime rate of 1.5 times your hourly wage for every hour you work past 40. So, the overtime minimum wage in Texas is $10.88 per hour, which is 1.5 times the minimum wage of $10.88 per hour.

Minimum Wage Rates for each State

Texas

Photo of author

Jason Coles

Jason Coles is the Founder of Foreign USA and its Chief Content Writer and Editor. Recognized as a prolific business plan writer by many prominent immigration attorneys in the U.S. who refer his services to their clients regularly, Jason has written over 1,360 business plans across the past 17+ years for start-up companies and franchises looking to expand their footprint in the United States. Jason is considered a seasoned expert in his field. He creates detailed business plans for his clients that include five-year financial projections, market and industry analysis reports, demographic studies, organizational charts, job descriptions, employee hiring plans, and more.