Are you visiting New Mexico for the first time? Maybe you are planning a move to the Land of Enchantment or have just relocated?
There is a lot to look forward to, including some incredibly beautiful landmarks, natural attractions, breathtaking national parks, stunning landscapes, and consistently nice weather.
Yes, there is much to do, and much to take in when visiting New Mexico or even if you have just moved there, but one of the things that you absolutely need to be aware of is the speed limit and the various speeds you can travel on certain kinds of and or within the state.
Knowledge of the speed limits in New Mexico is especially important if you plan to do some driving, whether in the cities, on the highways, through the mountains, or in any of the rural communities. That is because speeding in New Mexico can and most likely will attract hefty penalties and fines.
You can be slapped with a speeding ticket, for example, as well as have your license suspended due to an accumulation of points.
Knowing the correct speed limits in New Mexico is not only about avoiding punishment, it is also about driving safely on the roads to prevent accidents. Driving within the speed limit helps reduce the possibility of crashes and promotes efficient use of the road.
Traffic laws, including speed limits and other motor vehicle-related laws, are established by the New Mexico Department of Transportation. The state speed limits are defined by two different types of speed limits, basic speeding law, and absolute speed limits.
The basic speeding law prohibits driving at an unsafe speed for the road and weather conditions during your journey. What this means is that, yes, you might be driving at the signposted speed limit but if the road and weather conditions are impeding visibility and other factors, the basic speeding law will require you to drive at a safe limit for those conditions to avoid accidents!
An example would be that if you were driving on a 55 mph road on a windy, dark, and wet evening, you would be required to slow down to less than the signed speed limit of 55 mph. This is because the weather and road conditions would be considered dangerous, and if you were caught driving at the signed limit, you will likely be slapped with a fine and will receive points added to your license.
Speed Limit in New Mexico – What is the Maximum?
The absolute New Mexico speeding law is the speed limits you see signposted, what you see is what you get, literally. So, if the weather conditions are good and safe, you may go at the maximum speed limit. Surpassing the limit will again, likely cost you in fines and points.
New Mexico has one of the highest maximum speed limits in the entire country, with only 4 states having legally higher limits. The maximum speed at which you can travel on certain roads in New Mexico is 75 mph.
Here are the various speed limits including the maximum speed limit in New Mexico
- School zones have a speed limit of 15 mph.
- Residential districts are 30 mph.
- Public Highways are 55 mph unless signposted otherwise.
- 65 mph is the speed limit on undivided roads.
- 70 mph is the speed limit on divided roads.
- 75 mph is the speed limit on urban highways.
- 75 mph is the speed limit on rural highways.
When driving through residential areas, something to be aware of is schools, hospitals, and construction zones as these areas often have temporarily lowered speed limits and enforce these limits very strictly. You don’t want to receive a hefty fine for not being aware of this.
New Mexico Speeding Tickets and Points System
New Mexico speeding tickets system is pretty simple and easy to follow, if you surpass the speed limit by a certain mile per hour then you will be expected to pay the fine for surpassing the speed limit for whatever offense you have qualified for. Here are the fine amounts for speeding violations taking place in New Mexico:
- Up to 10 mph over the limit: $25 fine.
- 11 to 15 mph over the limit: $30 fine.
- 16 to 20 mph over the limit: $65 fine.
- 21 to 25 mph over the limit: $100 fine.
- 26 to 30 mph over the limit: $125 fine.
- 31 to 35 mph over the limit: $150 fine.
- More than 35 mph over the limit will result in a $200 fine.
- Speeding in a posted construction zone will usually result in your fine increasing to significantly more than usual.
When it comes to defining New Mexico traffic violation points, you would usually receive 3 to 8 points for surpassing the speed limit. However, there are some exceptions, and we have created a speeding point table for your convenience.
|New Mexico Speeding Ticket Points||Total Points|
|Speeding 26 or more miles per hour over limit||8|
|Passing a stopped school bus||6|
|Speeding 16 to 25 miles per hour over limit||5|
|Failure to yield to emergency vehicle||4|
|Failure to yield or obey traffic signal||3|
|Following too closely||3|
|Left of center||3|
|Speeding 6 to 15 miles per hour over limit||3|
|Failure to signal||2|
|Child restraint violation||2|
When visiting or relocating your family to the beautiful and temperate state of New Mexico, it is normal to have your mind focused on fun things to do. Knowledge of the speed limits in New Mexico – and adhering to them – will ensure your time is well spent and minimize the chance of you being fined or getting into an accident.