Owning your own business or franchise in the U.S. can be a dream for many people. Whether you are already based in the U.S. or are a  foreigner looking to do business in the U.S., there is a lot to learn when it comes to each state’s laws and regulations for businesses.

The minimum wage is an unusual concept in the US, as each state has its own laws and wages that oppose the national minimum wage, which is named the federal minimum wage.

However, some states use the federal wage as their own state wage, in fact, 21 states still use this rather than set their own (higher) state wage via the consumer price index, house pricing, and cost of living. The North Carolina State minimum wage for 2021 currently matches the federal minimum wage of $7.25 per hour.




Did the North Carolina Minimum Wage Go Up?

The graphic below highlights the North Carolina minimum wage over the past several years. The minimum wage did not go up and remains at $7.25 per hour in 2021.

Minimum Wage in North Carolina

North Carolina Minimum Wage 2021

Will the North Carolina minimum wage increase in 2021?

The short answer to this question is NO. The North Carolina minimum wage will remain equal to the federal wage of $7.25 for the foreseeable future. This has been the case for over 10 years now since the minimum wage increased in 2009 from $6.55 to $7.25.

There are some exceptions to this minimum wage depending on certain employment situations, here are some examples:

  • For tipped employees, the minimum wage is $2.13 per hour only if the tips added to this p/hr amount are at least $7.25 per hour.
  • Full-time students and apprentices may be paid a subminimum wage of no less than 90% of the actual North Carolina state minimum wage.

Much like other states, some cities and counties may have their own minimum wage laws, to learn more about this and keep constantly updated, head over to the North Carolina Department of Labor website.

Are you interested in starting a company in North Carolina?

If you would like to register a new business in North Carolina, check out our ultimate guide on How to Register a Business in North Carolina.

There are many interesting facts about North Carolina that you probably haven’t heard of. Feel free to check out a comprehensive list of them that also includes some very important economic facts if you are looking to start your own business or franchise or get a job in the state.

North Carolina Minimum Wage History

The table below provides the history of North Carolina’s minimum wage over the years since 2008. You can see when there were increases in the minimum wage, how much they were, and what percentage increase it represents.

StateWageYear$ Wage Increase% Increase
North Carolina Minimum Wage 2021$7.252021$00%
North Carolina Minimum Wage 2020$7.252020$00%
North Carolina Minimum Wage 2019$7.252019$00%
North Carolina Minimum Wage 2018$7.252018$00%
North Carolina Minimum Wage 2017$7.252017$00%
North Carolina Minimum Wage 2016$7.252016$00%
North Carolina Minimum Wage 2015$7.252015$00%
North Carolina Minimum Wage 2014$7.252014$00%
North Carolina Minimum Wage 2013$7.252013$00%
North Carolina Minimum Wage 2012$7.252012$00%
North Carolina Minimum Wage 2011$7.252011$00%
North Carolina Minimum Wage 2010$7.252010$00%
North Carolina Minimum Wage 2009$7.252009$0.7011%
North Carolina Minimum Wage 2008$6.552008$00%




EIN Number North Carolina

As a North Carolina business owner and employer, or someone that is looking to register an LLC or an incorporated company in North Carolina with the goal of hiring employees, now, or in the future, you will need to have a North Carolina EIN number.

An EIN is also known as an Employer Identification Number and is issued by the internal revenue service (IRS). We have created a guide on how to get an EIN number in North Carolina with the IRS, and it includes links to the appropriate sources and forms and the differences between whether you are a U.S. citizen or foreign national applying for a North Carolina EIN.