The state of Mississippi is a relatively large state, situated in the southeast region of the US. For many business owners, doing business in Mississippi is an attractive proposition.
A major factor for anyone involved in running a business or planning to start a business or franchise in Mississippi is rates of pay and wage laws. For employers, it is important to know what you are legally obligated to pay employees as a minimum hourly rate, and for employees, it is important to know your workers’ rights and what your employer is obligated to pay you.
In 2021, the Mississippi minimum wage is $7.25. This is the same as the federal minimum wage and has been since 2009. There is no sign of an increase in the federal minimum wage anytime soon, however, there could be for the state of Mississippi. It is not unusual for a state to not have its own higher minimum wage, in fact, 21 other states use the federal wage as their own min wage.
This page is updated often to reflect the latest information on the Mississippi minimum wage. However, if you need more information from the Mississippi Department of Employment Security, then visit their website for tax filing information and unemployment claims.
The graphic below charts the Mississippi minimum wage over the past several years indicating there have been no increases.
Mississippi Minimum Wage 2021
There were discussions in 2017 to increase the minimum wage by $2.75 making it $10.00 per hour, but the Mississippi minimum wage increase bid failed and the min wage in Mississippi has remained the same since at $7.25 per hour.
Are you interested in starting a company in Mississippi?
If you would like to register a new business in Mississippi, check out our ultimate guide on How to Register a Business in Mississippi.
Since the Mississippi minimum wage is the same as the federal minimum wage, there are no major differences in the minimum wage rate in Mississippi based on the type of industry you work in. There are, however, a few exceptions and these include the following:
- Tipped employees are eligible for tip credit of up to $5.12 but they must be paid $2.13 as a base wage to make up the rest of the minimum wage in tips.
- For students working up to 20 hours per week, you can be paid a minimum of 85% of the Mississippi minimum wage rate. This works out at $6.16 per hour.
- New employees under the age of 20 years old can be paid a training wage of $4.25 per hour for the first 90 days of employment.
If you are interested in learning more about the US minimum wage by state, check out our page where we detail the current and historical minimum wages from all 50 states.
There are many interesting facts about Mississippi that you probably haven’t heard of. Feel free to check out a comprehensive list of them that also includes some very important economic facts if you are looking to start your own business or franchise or get a job in the state.
Mississippi Minimum Wage History
This table shows the Mississippi minimum wage history. It also includes the increase in the min wage and the percentage increase each year. Although, there haven’t been any Mississippi minimum wage increases in recent years. Are you interested in learning the Mississippi state abbreviation? Take a look at our page dedicated to this.
|State||Wage||Year||$ Wage Increase||% Increase|
|Mississippi Minimum Wage 2021||$7.25||2021||$0||0%|
|Mississippi Minimum Wage 2020||$7.25||2020||$0||0%|
|Mississippi Minimum Wage 2019||$7.25||2019||$0||0%|
|Mississippi Minimum Wage 2018||$7.25||2018||$0||0%|
|Mississippi Minimum Wage 2017||$7.25||2017||$0||0%|
|Mississippi Minimum Wage 2016||$7.25||2016||$0||0%|
|Mississippi Minimum Wage 2015||$7.25||2015||$0||0%|
|Mississippi Minimum Wage 2014||$7.25||2014||$0||0%|
|Mississippi Minimum Wage 2013||$7.25||2013||$0||0%|
|Mississippi Minimum Wage 2012||$7.25||2012||$0||0%|
|Mississippi Minimum Wage 2011||$7.25||2011||$0||0%|
|Mississippi Minimum Wage 2010||$7.25||2010||$0||0%|
|Mississippi Minimum Wage 2009||$7.25||2009||$0.70||11%|
|Mississippi Minimum Wage 2008||$6.55||2008||$0||0%|
EIN Number Mississippi
As a Mississippi business owner and employer, or someone that is looking to register an LLC or an incorporated company in Mississippi with the goal of hiring employees, now, or in the future, you will need to have a Mississippi EIN number.
An EIN is also known as an Employer Identification Number and is issued by the internal revenue service (IRS). We have created a guide on how to get an EIN number in Mississippi with the IRS, and it includes links to the appropriate sources and forms and the differences between whether you are a U.S. citizen or a foreign national applying for a Mississippi EIN.