Florida State Minimum Wage

Author: Jason Coles

Updated On:

Updated On:

On September 30, 2023, the Florida state minimum wage increased from $11.00 (2022/23) to $12.00 per hour. This makes the Florida minimum wage in late 2023 and most of 2024 a higher rate than the current federal wage by $4.75 per hour.

This minimum wage increase over the past several years has been gradual compared to other states; however, it has been increasing consistently since 2016.

In 2023 it rose to $12.00, which is $1.00 more per hour than previously, and a healthy 9% increase! This new rate is also applicable in the 2024 calendar year.

If you are a full-time worker being paid the statewide minimum wage, your earnings could be as follows:

  • Daily Minimum Wage: $96.00 (based on an 8-hour day).
  • Weekly Minimum Wage: $480.00 (based on a 40-hour week).
  • Monthly Minimum Wage: $2,080.00 (based on a full-time month).
  • Yearly Minimum Wage: $24,960 (based on being paid 52 weeks per year).
  • There is a 0% income tax rate in Florida, but you are still subject to other taxes on your earnings.

You can download our minimum wage earnings graphic below to use as a reference:

Florida minimum wage earnings

In November 2020, Florida voters approved Amendment 2, which eventually increased Florida’s minimum hourly wage to $15.00 per hour.

The new law amends Florida’s constitution to gradually increase the state’s minimum wage by $1.00 per hour through 2026 until it reaches $15.00 per hour.

Did the Florida Minimum Wage Increase and Will it Increase in the Future?

The graphic below highlights Florida’s minimum wage over the past several years. The minimum wage increase in 2023 (9/30/23), with the prior Florida state minimum wage in 2022 increasing by $1.00 to $11.00.

So, from September 2023 through September 2024, the rate will remain at $12.00 per hour.

Effective September 30, 2023, the minimum wage increased from $11.00 per hour to $12.00 per hour – this will be the minimum wage rate in Florida for the majority of 2024, until the next increase on September 30, 2024.

The increase is calculated by the Florida Department of Economic Opportunity and is based on the percentage increase in the Consumer Price Index for the South Region, and the FL minimum wage is recalculated on September 30th each year.

Regarding the cities in Florida, there are no special minimum wage rates except for certain employees depending on their line of work. Find out more about the Orlando or Fort Lauderdale minimum wage by looking at our dedicated pages.

Florida Minimum Wage Increase Schedule

Florida had the first increase in its minimum wage per the state’s 2020 constitutional amendment on September 30, 2022.

The second increase happened on September 30, 2023, when it went from $11.00 per hour to $12.00 per hour. This voter-approved amendment will continue to increase in future years as follows:

  • September 30, 2024: $13 per hour
  • September 30, 2025: $14 per hour
  • September 30, 2026: $15.00 per hour
  • Beyond 2026: Inflation-linked increases

Below is a downloadable graphic featuring the Florida minimum wage increase schedule up until 2025:

Florida Minimum Wage News

With the minimum wage being such a hot topic, with things changing and new laws coming into play seemingly all the time, we have created a news section to update you on the latest news happening with Florida’s minimum wage.

  • New Baseball Bill: A recent bill to exempt minor league ball players from the Florida minimum wage laws has been released. The bill would essentially exempt minor-league baseball players, for example, those on the Fort Myers Mighty Mussels team from the state’s minimum wage. The federal act has many minimum wage exemptions, with baseball players being one – learn more about it.
  • Disney Minimum Wage: It seems like 2023 will be another significant year for the minimum wage in Florida regarding Disney’s theme park employees. The minimum wage for Disney World employees currently sits at $15 per hour, which is much higher than the current minimum wage for Florida ($11.00 per hour). Union members want the rate to rise higher, and you can learn more about it here.

Exemptions and Subminimum Wage Rates in Florida

In addition to the regular minimum wage rate, there are a few Florida state minimum wage exemptions that typically depend on your age or employment situation.

Here is a downloadable graphic showcasing the main minimum wage exemptions in Florida:

Below are all of the various minimum wage exemptions with some situational examples.

Florida Tipped Minimum Wage

If you are a tipped employee in Florida (someone who receives regular tips as a part of their job) then you are eligible to be paid a minimum wage of $8.98 per hour, with a tip credit of $3.02 per hour, ensuring that you reach the statewide minimum wage regardless if you make enough hourly tips.

Florida Overtime Minimum Wage

Once you work over 40 hours in a working week you are eligible to be paid an overtime rate of 1.5 times your hourly wage for every hour you work past 40.

So, the overtime minimum wage in Florida is $18.00 per hour, 1.5 times the minimum wage of $12.00 per hour.

Florida Under 20 Minimum Wage

If you are under 20 years old in Florida, federal law allows your employer to pay you as little as $4.25 per hour for your first 90 days of employment.

Once the 90-day period is over, you will be eligible to be paid the 2024 minimum wage of $12.00 per hour or potentially even more.

Fortunately for young workers, this is 90 calendar days and not 90 working days; therefore, it can be completed relatively quickly and within about three months.

Florida Student Minimum Wage

The minimum wage for student employees in Florida is 85% of the Florida minimum wage, making their hourly pay $10.20 per hour in 2024.

This hourly rate is for any hours worked up to 20 hours per week. As a student employee, once you surpass 20 hours per week, you will be eligible to be paid the state minimum wage rate of $12.00 per hour.

Being a student can be financially challenging, leading many students to pick up part-time jobs to make extra money while studying.

Despite a student minimum wage rate, many Florida employers will not necessarily follow it and pay you equal to or more than the statewide minimum wage.

Many work-study programs are available at universities, which is a route many students go down. Still, coffee shop, cafe, bar, and restaurant jobs are commonly taken by students as they can work them into their class schedule.

Florida Employment Types Exempt From Minimum Wage

If you are an employee working under one of the following job roles, you are also exempt from the Florida minimum wage:

  • Executives
  • Administration officials
  • Computer workers
  • Outside sales representatives

Florida Minimum Wage Exemptions Table

Below is a table consisting of the Florida minimum wage exemptions, including some historic rates for reference:

Florida Minimum Wage Exemption2023/20242022/2023202220212020
Tipped Minimum Wage$8.98$7.98$6.98$6.98$5.54
Overtime Minimum Wage$18.00$16.50$15.00$15.00$12.84
Under 20 Minimum Wage$4.25$4.25$4.25$4.25$4.25
Student Minimum Wage$10.20$9.35$8.50$8.50$7.27

Florida Minimum Wage History

The table below shows the current rate and history of Florida’s minimum wage over the past 40+ years since 1983.

You can see when there were increases in the minimum wage, how much they were, and what percentage increase it represents each year.

YearMinimum WageIncrease ($)Increase (%)
2024 (Sept)$13.00$1.008.3%
2023 (Sept)$12.00$1.009%
2022 (Sept)$11.00$1.0010%
2021 (Sept)$10.00$1.3515.6%
2021 (Jan-Sept)$8.65$0.091.05%
2020$8.56$0.101.2%
2019$8.46$0.212.5%
2018$8.25$0.151.8%
2017$8.10$0.050.6%
2016$8.05$00%
2015$8.05$0.121.5%
2014$7.93$0.141.8%
2013$7.79$0.121.6%
2012$7.67$0.364.9%
2011$7.31$0.060.82%
2010$7.25$00%
2009$7.25$0.466.8%
2008$6.79$0.121.8%
2007$6.67$0.274.22%
2006$6.40$1.2524.27%
2005$5.15$00%
2004$5.15$00%
2003$5.15$00%
2002$5.15$00%
2001$5.15$00%
2000$5.15$00%
1999$5.15$00%
1998$5.15$00%
1997$5.15$0.408.42%
1996$4.75$0.5011.76%
1995$4.25$00%
1994$4.25$00%
1993$4.25$00%
1992$4.25$00%
1991$4.25$0.4511.84%
1990$3.80$0.4513.43%
1989$3.35$00%
1988$3.35$00%
1987$3.35$00%
1986$3.35$00%
1985$3.35$00%
1984$3.35$00%
1983$3.35$00%

Florida minimum wage history for more than 10 years – downloadable PDF below

FL Minimum Wage History – Downloadable PDF

What Does This Mean if You Are a Florida Employer?

So, what does this mean for Florida businesses? Well, by no later than September 30, Florida employers need to increase hourly pay for their employees in accordance with Florida’s latest minimum wage increase.

Florida Labor Laws to Follow

As an employer, or employee in Florida, you must know, understand, and most importantly follow these laws:

  • Florida employers are not required to provide meal or rest breaks unless the employee is under 18 and has worked more than 4 hours continuously. In this case, they are entitled to a 30-minute break.
  • Florida technically has no state laws regarding recordkeeping for employers. However, it’s federal law for employers to keep records detailing every employee: name and social security number, address, date of birth, sex, occupation, time and date of their start of employment, hours worked daily, hours worked weekly, basis of pay, regular hourly rate, total earnings (weekly) noting overtime separately, additions and deductions from wages, dates of payments, payroll records for at least 3 years.
  • In Florida, employers are able to set their own pay periods as there are no state laws that regulate pay frequency.
  • It is Florida state law that employers in certain industries take out workers’ compensation insurance. These are the following employers: non-construction industry employers with 4 or more employees (full and or part-time), construction industry employers, agricultural employers with 6 or more regular employees, or 12 or more seasonal employees working 30 days or more.

Florida Labor Law Poster and Department of Economic Opportunity Contact Details

As a Florida employer, you need to keep yourself compliant with the law. To do this, you need to display a Florida Labor Law poster in a prominent place.

The good news is that you can acquire one of these posters for free from the Department of Economic Opportunity website, and download the poster in English, Spanish, and even Kreyōl.

If you wish to contact the department directly, here are all of the contact details you need:

Department of Economic Opportunity
107 East Madison Street
Caldwell Building
Tallahassee, Florida 32399-4120
Telephone: 850-245-7105
Email: wser.info@deo.myflorida.com

Minimum Wage Rates for each State

Florida

Photo of author

Jason Coles

Jason Coles is the Founder of Foreign USA and its Chief Content Writer and Editor. Recognized as a prolific business plan writer by many prominent immigration attorneys in the U.S. who refer his services to their clients regularly, Jason has written over 1,335 business plans across the past 17+ years for start-up companies and franchises looking to expand their footprint in the United States. Jason is considered a seasoned expert in his field. He creates detailed business plans for his clients that include five-year financial projections, market and industry analysis reports, demographic studies, organizational charts, job descriptions, employee hiring plans, and more.