The Sunshine State is a magnet for those seeking a better quality of life and all the other benefits a warm climate can provide.

If you put the stunning beaches, endless amount of theme parks, and laid-back and vibrant lifestyle to one side, you have a State that is also very attractive for those looking to register a business in Florida.

How much does it cost to register a business in Florida? Not too much! Sure, it is not the cheapest state to register a business in, but it is certainly not as high as some others.

Let’s get right into the upfront costs to register a company in Florida, whether that be an LLC, an Incorporated company, a partnership, a non-profit, or any other type of company.

How much does it cost to register a business in Florida

Disclosure: Our goal is to feature services that we think you will find interesting, useful, and necessary that will also save you a lot of time and make sure you are compliant. Purchasing through some links may result in us earning a small commission at no additional expense to you.

What is the cost to register a business in Florida?

There are two main types of companies you will form when starting and registering a business in Florida:

  • Florida Limited Liability Company (LLC)
  • Florida Incorporated Company (Inc.)

Of course, there are other types of structures such as sole proprietorship, a limited or general partnership, and non-profit, but the most common two are the limited liability company and corporation.

When it comes to registering your company in the U.S., it is important to be aware that the registration and renewal costs differ depending on which state you decide to register in. The type of business structure you decide on will also determine the specific costs.

If you would like to pay for the services of a formation and business filing services company to register your Florida business the right way, they can do it for an affordable fee that ensures it is done properly and all the correct documents are filed according to the law. They will also take care of all the after-formation procedures so your business is compliant with Florida law and legally registered.

How much does it cost to register a company in Florida?

  • Florida LLC Initial Registration: $125
  • Florida Corporation Initial Registration: $70
  • Florida Non-Profit Initial Registration: $70
    (includes the $35 Florida Registered Agent designation fee)
  • Foreign LLC Initial Registration: $125
    (this is so an LLC can obtain foreign qualification)
  • Foreign Corporation Initial Registration: $70
    (this is so an Inc. can obtain foreign qualification)
  • Limited Partnership (LP) Initial Registration: $965
    (+$35 for Florida Registered Agent designation)
  • Limited Liability Partnership (LLP) Initial Registration: $965
    (+$35 for Florida Registered Agent designation)
  • Sole Proprietor Initial Registration: $50
    (no compulsory registration is required, but you should file a trading name or fictitious name registration)

The costs to register a business in Florida noted above are the total fees you must pay but do not include several optional fees that are offered by the Florida Division of Corporations.

The costs include the initial filing fees and the registered agent designation fees that the Secretary of State charges. If you would like additional copies of your registration certificate (certified copy), or a certificate of status, these can be obtained for $8.75 each.

When you open a bank account or apply for credit, some financial institutions may need a certified copy of your registration certificate.

$70 may seem inexpensive to register a non-profit, but in addition to this, the IRS charges a $400 application fee if your organization’s annual revenues are less than $10,000.

How much does it cost to renew a company in Florida?

According to Florida law, any company wishing to continue doing business in the State of Florida must file an annual report with the Secretary of State, Division of Corporations. Some annual fees are the same as the initial registration costs, while others are less.

Annual Fees to renew your business in Florida:

  • Annual Fee for an LLC in Florida: $138.75
    (includes supplemental fee)
  • Annual Fee for a Corporation in Florida: $61.25
  • Annual Fee for a Florida Non-Profit: $61.25
  • Annual Fee for a Foreign LLC: $138.75
  • Annual Fee for a Foreign Corporation: $61.25
  • Annual Fee for a Limited Partnership (LP): $500
    (includes supplemental fee)
  • Annual Fee for a Limited Liability Partnership (LLP): $500
    (includes supplemental fee)
  • Annual Fee for a Sole Proprietor: $50
    (fictitious name renewal)

The above annual reporting fees for businesses are the minimum you must pay, and there are optional fees and additional state fees a business entity may need to pay should you wish to change your registered agent or office, or if a managing member or officer/director changes.

For example, the filing fee to change your registered agent is $25, to file articles of correction costs $25, and if you need a certificate of conversion it costs $25.00 plus new entity filing fees (if applicable).

Other Florida Sunbiz Filing Fees

As a business owner or soon-to-be owner of a Florida company, you should be aware of the other various fees that are charged by Sunbiz.

  • Amended and Restated Certificate: $52.50
  • Amendment: $52.50
  • Change of Registered Agent/Office: $35.00
  • Certificate of Conversion: $52.50 (plus new entity filing fees, if applicable)
  • Certificate of Dissolution: $52.50 (learn how to dissolve a company in Florida)
  • Certificate of Merger: $52.50 (per party)
  • Certificate of Revocation of Dissolution: $52.50
  • Notice of Cancellation: $52.50
  • Name Reservation: $52.50
  • Resignation of Registered Agent: $87.50
  • Restated Certificate: $52.50
  • Statement of Correction: $52.50
  • Statement of Termination: $52.50

One of the most important fees to remember is the late filing fee. In Florida, they impose a substantial late fee if you file your annual report after May 1st. The state fee is an additional $400!

Florida Division of Corporations physical address and for courier packages

Department of State
Division of Corporations
The Centre of Tallahassee
2415 N. Monroe Street, Suite 810
Tallahassee, FL 32303
Hours: 8:00 a.m. – 5 p.m. EST
Website: dos.myflorida.com
Email: NewFilingsCorpHelp@DOS.MyFlorida.com

Florida Division of Corporations mailing address

Department of State
Division of Corporations
Section Name
P.O. Box 6327
Tallahassee, FL 32314
(for Certification Section, Corporate Filings, Public Access Account, etc.)

Options for verification that your business has been authorized in Florida:

  • E-File your Certificate of Status
  • Online validation for a Certificate of Status (excluding fictitious name certificates)
  • Request in writing a Certificate of Status order
  • Request in writing a certified copy of a filing with the Division of Corporations.
  • Visit the Florida Sunbiz website for more information, to file an annual report, or to register a Florida company yourself.

If certain changes are made by the LLC, such as amending the Articles of Organization or changing the registered agent, the Florida Secretary of State’s office must be notified on the appropriate form and a fee must be paid. This fee is $25 for the majority of changes.

Here is the fee schedule from the Florida Department of State, Division of Corporations.