The statewide minimum wage in Arkansas has not increased since 2021, remaining at $11.00 per hour.
Before 2021, Arkansas saw its minimum wage increase on a pretty consistent basis. Now that we are in 2023, it seems as if the Arkansas minimum wage rate will remain the same until further notice.
If you are a full-time worker on Arkansas state minimum wage, your earnings could be as follows:
- Daily Minimum Wage: $88.00 (based on an 8-hour working day).
- Weekly Minimum Wage: $440.00 (based on a 40-hour week).
- Monthly Minimum Wage: $1,906.66 (based on a full-time month).
- Yearly Minimum Wage: $22,880.00 (based on being paid 52 weeks per year).
You can download the following minimum wage earnings graphic for your reference:
Will the Arkansas Minimum Wage Increase?
During the election in November 2018, the state agreed on a wage increase over three years, also agreeing on the specific amount the wages would be increased by.
For example, people were already aware of the Arkansas minimum wage 2021 rate before the January increase.
However, this was the last time the minimum wage increased, and as it stands, there is no sign of a further increase to the statewide minimum wage.
The graphic below highlights the Arkansas minimum wage over the past several years. The minimum wage did go up in 2021 from $10.00 per hour (in 2020) to $11.00 in 2021.
However, as you can see – the minimum wage has remained at the same rate in 2022 and 2023:
Arkansas Minimum Wage Exemptions
In addition to the regular minimum wage rate, there are a few Arkansas state minimum wage exemptions that typically depend on your age or employment situation.
Below are the various minimum wage exemptions with some situational examples.
Arkansas Student Minimum Wage
The minimum wage for student employees in Arkansas is 85% of the Arkansas state minimum wage, making their hourly pay $9.35 per hour in 2023.
This hourly rate is for any hours worked up to 20 hours per week. As a student employee, once you surpass 20 hours per week, you will be eligible to be paid the Arkansas minimum wage rate of $11.00 per hour.
Being a student can be financially challenging, leading many students to pick up part-time jobs to make extra money while studying. Despite a student minimum wage rate, many Arkansas employers will not necessarily follow it and pay you equal to or more than the statewide minimum wage.
Many work-study programs are available at universities, which is a route many students go down. Still, coffee shop, cafe, bar, and restaurant jobs are commonly taken by students as they can work them into their class schedule.
Arkansas Under 20 Minimum Wage
If you are under 20 years old in Arkansas, federal law allows your employer to pay you as little as $4.25 per hour for your first 90 days of employment.
Once the 90-day period is over, you will be eligible to be paid the 2023 Arkansas minimum wage of $11.00 per hour or potentially even more.
Fortunately for young workers, this is 90 calendar days and not 90 working days; therefore, it can be completed relatively quickly and within about three months.
Arkansas Tipped Minimum Wage
If you are a tipped employee in Arkansas (someone who receives regular tips as a part of their job) then you are eligible to be paid a minimum wage of $2.60 per hour, with a tip credit of $8.37 per hour, ensuring that you reach the statewide minimum wage regardless if you make enough hourly tips.
Arkansas Overtime Minimum Wage
Once you work over 40 hours a week, you are eligible to be paid an overtime rate of 1.5 times your hourly wage for every hour you work past 40. So, the overtime minimum wage in Arkansas is $16.50 per hour, 1.5 times the minimum wage of $11.00 per hour.
Arkansas Exemption Minimum Wage History
Here is a table detailing the history of Arkansas’ minimum wage exemptions:
|Florida Minimum Wage Exemption||2023||2022||2021||2020||2019|
|Tipped Minimum Wage||$2.63||$2.63||$2.63||$2.63||$2.63|
|Overtime Minimum Wage||$16.50||$16.50||$16.50||$15.00||$13.87|
|Under 20 Minimum Wage||$4.25||$4.25||$4.25||$4.25||$4.25|
|Student Minimum Wage||$9.35||$9.35||$9.35||$8.50||$7.86|
This graphic showcases the most important minimum wage exemptions to be aware of:
Arkansas Minimum Wage History
The table below provides the current rate and history of Arkansas’s minimum wage over the past 40+ years since 1983.
You can see when there were increases in the minimum wage, how much they were, and what percentage increase it represents each year.
|State||Wage||$ Wage Increase||% Increase|
|Arkansas Minimum Wage 2023||$12.00||$1.00||9%|
|Arkansas Minimum Wage 2022||$11.00||$0||0%|
|Arkansas Minimum Wage 2021||$11.00||$1||10%|
|Arkansas Minimum Wage 2020||$10.00||$0.75||8.1%|
|Arkansas Minimum Wage 2019||$9.25||$0.75||8.8%|
|Arkansas Minimum Wage 2018||$8.50||$0||0%|
|Arkansas Minimum Wage 2017||$8.50||$0.50||6.25%|
|Arkansas Minimum Wage 2016||$8.00||$0.50||6.7%|
|Arkansas Minimum Wage 2015||$7.50||$0.25||3.4%|
|Arkansas Minimum Wage 2014||$7.25||$0||0%|
|Arkansas Minimum Wage 2013||$7.25||$0||0%|
|Arkansas Minimum Wage 2012||$7.25||$0||0%|
|Arkansas Minimum Wage 2011||$7.25||$0||0%|
|Arkansas Minimum Wage 2010||$7.25||$0||0%|
|Arkansas Minimum Wage 2009||$7.25||$1.00||%16|
|Arkansas Minimum Wage 2008||$6.25||$0||0%|
|Arkansas Minimum Wage 2007||$6.25||$0||0%|
|Arkansas Minimum Wage 2006||$6.25||$1.10|
|Arkansas Minimum Wage 2005||$5.15||$0||0%|
|Arkansas Minimum Wage 2004||$5.15||$0||0%|
|Arkansas Minimum Wage 2003||$5.15||$0||0%|
|Arkansas Minimum Wage 2002||$5.15||$0||0%|
|Arkansas Minimum Wage 2001||$5.15||$0||0%|
|Arkansas Minimum Wage 2000||$5.15||$0||0%|
|Arkansas Minimum Wage 1999||$5.15||$0||0%|
|Arkansas Minimum Wage 1998||$5.15||$0||0%|
|Arkansas Minimum Wage 1997||$5.15||$0.90||21.17%|
|Arkansas Minimum Wage 1996||$4.25||$0||0%|
|Arkansas Minimum Wage 1995||$4.25||$0||0%|
|Arkansas Minimum Wage 1994||$4.25||$0.10||2.40%|
|Arkansas Minimum Wage 1993||$4.15||$0.15||3.75%|
|Arkansas Minimum Wage 1992||$4.00||$0.35||9.58%|
|Arkansas Minimum Wage 1991||$3.65||$0.30||8.95%|
|Arkansas Minimum Wage 1990||$3.35||$0||0%|
|Arkansas Minimum Wage 1989||$3.35||$0.05||1.51%|
|Arkansas Minimum Wage 1988||$3.30||$0.05||1.53%|
|Arkansas Minimum Wage 1987||$3.25||$0.10||3.17%|
|Arkansas Minimum Wage 1986||$3.15||$0||0%|
|Arkansas Minimum Wage 1985||$3.15||$0.10||3.27%|
|Arkansas Minimum Wage 1984||$3.05||$0.10||3.38%|
|Arkansas Minimum Wage 1983||$2.95||$0||0%|
Arkansas minimum wage history for 10+ years – downloadable PDF below
Arkansas Minimum Wage History – Downloadable PDF
Arkansas Department of Labor and Licensing Contact Details and Key Information
As an Arkansas employer, you need to keep yourself compliant with the law. To do this, you need to display an Arkansas Labor Law poster in a prominent place.
To learn more about the laws and rules for specific industries and workers, take a look at the Arkansas Department of Labor website.
If you wish to contact the department directly, here are all of the contact details you need:
Arkansas Department of Labor and Licensing:
900 W Capitol Ave, Suite 400,
Little Rock, AR 72201