Speed limits and the laws associated with them are most definitely not the first thing that springs to mind when traveling to or through such a beautiful state as Vermont. However, it is perhaps one of the most important things to familiarize yourself with.
The state’s traffic authority in Vermont sets out clear guidelines that must be followed in order to avoid receiving a traffic ticket, license points, subsequent insurance increases, and even jail time!
If you are moving to Vermont from another state, visiting or relocating from another country, or simply driving through the state from a neighbouring state such as New York, knowing what the correct speed limits are in Vermont is so incredibly important.
Knowledge of the correct speed limits is not only about avoiding punishment. It is also about driving safely on the roads to prevent accidents with another motorist. Driving within the speed limit helps reduce the possibility of injury and promotes efficient use of the road.
Traffic laws, including speed limits and other motor vehicle-related laws, are established by the Vermont Agency of Transportation. The state speed limits are defined by two different types of speed limits, basic speeding Vermont law, and absolute speed limits.
The basic speeding law prohibits driving “at a speed greater than is reasonable and prudent under the conditions and having regard to the actual hazards then existing”. This means that motorists must always drive at a safe speed for the conditions and environment they are driving in.
An example would be that if you were driving on a 55 mph road on a windy, dark, and icy evening, you would be required to slow down your speed to significantly less than the signed speed limit of 55 mph. This is because the weather and road conditions would be considered dangerous, and if you were caught driving at the signed limit, you may be slapped with fines and potentially worse punishments.
Vermont Speed Limit Laws
The absolute speed limit in Vermont is the speed limit you see signposted on roadways, literally what you see is what you get! If the weather conditions are good, the roads are clear and safe, you may go at the maximum speed limit. Surpassing it will likely cost you fines, and other penalties.
Vermont certainly does not have the highest maximum speed limit in the U.S., in fact, there are a total of 40 other states that all have a higher maximum speed limit. The maximum speed limit at which you can travel on specific roads in Vermont is 65 mph.
Here are the different speed limits to look out for in Vermont:
- 25 mph is the speed limit in residential areas (always double-check the posted speed limit).
- 50 mph is the maximum speed limit for undivided roads.
- 55 mph is the maximum speed limit for divided roads.
- The urban highway speed limit in Vermont is 55 mph.
- Rural highways/interstates in Vermont are 65 mph.
- The maximum truck speed limit is the same – 65 mph.
When driving through residential areas (and on interstates), something to be aware of is schools, hospitals, and construction zones as these areas often have temporarily lowered speed limits and enforce these limits very strictly. You don’t want to receive a lofty fine for not being aware of this.
Truck Speed Limit Vermont
In Vermont, the fines for a speeding violation will depend on where the violation took place, and obviously how fast the driver was going. Generally speaking, speeding violators will have to pay a $47 surcharge fee in addition to the fine. Dependant on the type of violation that is committed, the fine is calculated as $5 to $8 for each mph past the limit + 15% of the total calculation. Speeding in roadwork zones will equate to double the usual fine value.
If you are caught going at least 60 mph and speeding by 30 mph or more, you will likely face up to 3 months in jail and will receive a fine worth $300 for the first offense. A second offense will be 6 or more months in jail and a max fine of $500!
Like the majority of most states, Vermont has envoked a point systsem for those who commit traffic offenses, here is how the point system works:
|Vermont Speeding Ticket Points||Total Points|
|Driving without a license||2|
|Municipal regulation violation||2|
|Traffic control signal violation||2|
|Failure to yield right-of-way||2|
|Failure to signal||2|
|Railroad crossing violation||2|
|Other unlisted violation||2|
|Failure to obey officer||4|
|Failure to yield to pedestrian||4|
|Cellphone violation in school or work zone||4|
|Failure to yield to emergency vehicles||5|
|Illegal passing of school bus||5|
|Texting and driving||5|
|2nd offense cellphone violation in school zone||5|
|Failure to stop for accident||10|
|Eluding an officer||10|
|Speeding less than 10 mph over limit||2|
|Speeding more than 10 mph over limit||3|
|Speeding more than 20 mph over limit||5|
|Speeding more than 30 mph over limit||10|
When visiting, vacationing, or even relocating to the beautiful state of Vermont, it is understandable to have your mind focused on fun and awesome things to do and places to see. However, knowledge of the speed limit in Vermont – and adhering to the signed limits – will ensure your time is well spent and minimize the chance of you being fined or getting into an accident.