Speed limits are probably the last thing that comes to mind when traveling to an interesting place such as the U.S. state of Nebraska. But the state’s traffic authority sets out clear guidelines that must be followed in order to avoid getting a traffic ticket, having points added to your license, insurance premium increases, or worse – jail time!
If you are moving to Nebraska from another state, visiting or relocating from another country, or simply driving through the state, understanding the speed limit is incredibly useful knowledge to have.
The speed limit in Nebraska is split into two different categories, basic speed limits, and absolute speed limits. The way in which the absolute speed limit works is pretty simple, if the speed limit is 25 mph and you drive faster than that, you have violated the law and could face punishment in the form of a ticket, and/or points added to your license. The Nebraska Department of Transportation determines the state speed limits.
The absolute speed limits in Nebraska are as follows
- 20 mph in business districts.
- 25 mph in residential districts.
- 25 mph in urban area construction zones, and school zones.
- 35 mph in rural area construction zones.
- 50 mph on any highway that is not dustless-surfaced and not part of the state highway system.
- 55 mph on any dustless-surfaced highway not a part of the state highway system.
- 60 mph on most parts of the state highway system other than an expressway or a freeway.
- 65 mph on an expressway that is part of the state highway system.
- 65 mph on a freeway that is part of the state highway system but not part of the interstate system.
- 70 mph on most highways that are part of the interstate system.
Nebraska Speed Limits
The basic speed limit requires motorists to drive at a “careful and prudent speed not greater than nor less than is reasonable and proper, having due regard to the traffic, surface, and width of the highway and of any other conditions that exist.”
The basic Nebraska speed limits also require drivers to reduce their speed when approaching crossings, curves in the road, a hill-crest, or when the conditions on the road warrant a speed reduction.
So essentially, motorists must drive at a safe speed depending on the environment and other factors, such as weather conditions. For example, if you were in a 55 mph zone and it was an icy, windy, and rainy day, it would be extremely dangerous to drive at that speed limit and could result in a violation and a ticket. However, if you were driving on a bright, sunny, and dry day, there would generally be no issue with driving at the prescribed speed limit.
In Nebraska, if you are caught breaching the speed limit, you will be fined and could face a potential license suspension. Now, unlike most other states, Nebraska doesn’t have a clear point system when it comes to speeding violations, you will receive fines for committing a misdemeanor.
However, the points that will be added to your record can vary depending on the severity of the speeding violation but there is no official points system in place. This means you could be charged with 1 to 4 points on any given misdemeanor.
Speeding ticket fines you will likely receive for exceeding the speed limit in Nebraska:
- $10 for exceeding the speed limit by 1 to 5 mph.
- $25 for exceeding the speed limit by over 5 but not more than 10 mph.
- $75 for exceeding the speed limit by over 10 but not more than 15 mph.
- $125 for exceeding the speed limit by over 15 but not more than 20 mph.
- $200 for exceeding the speed limit by over 20 but not more than 35 mph.
- $300 for exceeding the speed limit by over 35 mph.
- Something to keep in mind is that fines will be doubled for speeding in a construction or school zone!
It is clear that road safety is of great importance to the people of Nebraska. You can play your part by knowing and observing the specified speed limit!