Speed limits are probably the last thing that comes to mind when traveling to an interesting place such as the U.S. state of Idaho. But the state’s traffic authority sets out clear guidelines that must be followed in order to avoid getting a traffic ticket or, worse, jail time.
If you are moving to Idaho from another state, visiting or relocating from another country, or simply driving through the state, understanding the speed limit in Idaho is useful knowledge to have.
What are the different types of Idaho speed limits?
The traffic laws in Idaho define the maximum speed that any motorist traveling on roads within the state can legally drive. Similar to most other states in the US, driving over the speed limit can, and will most likely result in a traffic citation, speeding ticket fine, license suspension, and even arrest and subsequent jail time.
Idaho speed limits vary depending on a multitude of factors, the type of road, weather conditions, visibility, and temporary roadworks or construction zones. The fastest speed limit you may go in Idaho is 80 mph, this limit applies to most rural interstate highways unless signposted otherwise. Idaho speed limits are decided and implemented by the Idaho State Legislature.
Here are the different Idaho speed limits
- 25 mph for active school zones (mainly during drop off and pick up). Once schools have closed for the day or during school holidays, you can drive at the signposted limit.
- 30 mph for roads in residential areas.
- 65 mph on urban freeways.
- 70 mph on undivided roads.
- 70 mph on divided roads.
- 80 mph on rural freeways.
As you can see, the maximum speed limit you can drive in Idaho is 80 mph on some rural freeways. Considering that Idaho has several interstate highways connecting various parts of the state, you will probably spend a lot of time on such roads if you are commuting or driving through the state.
Penalties for breaching Idaho speed limit laws
If you are caught and convicted of an Idaho speed limit violation, you will usually have to pay $90 for surpassing the signed speed limit by 1 – 15 mph, or alternatively, if you go 16 or more mph over the speed limit you will likely face a $155 charge.
If you commit a speeding offense in a construction zone, it will likely cost you $106.50 and violations committed in school zones will carry fines worth $156.50! A speeding violation will also result in the DMV assessing demerit points to your driving record. You can also gain demerit points on your license or even have it revoked, depending on the severity of the violation.
In Idaho, when you receive a driving citation, you will receive a certain amount of points on your driving record for a specific period of time. For example, if you were driving 9 mph over the speed limit, you would have 3 points added to your driving license and record. For surpassing the speed limit by 1 – 15 mph, you will not only be fined, but you will receive points too, 3 to be precise. Driving 16 mph over the limit will result in 4 points being added to your record.
If you accumulate 12 to 17 points within a 12 month period, you will receive a 30-day driving suspension, if you manage to accumulate 18 to 23 points within a 24 month period, you will be subject to a 90-day suspension, and finally, if you manage to get 24 or more points in a 36 month period, you will be slapped with a 6-month suspension!
It is clear that road safety is of great importance to the people of Idaho. You can play your part by knowing and observing the specified speed limits in the state of Idaho.