Anyone that lives in, is looking to visit Arkansas, or who plans to journey through the state by car must understand what the speed limit in Arkansas is.
Laws surrounding speed limits are quite stringent in Arkansas, much the same as anywhere else in the U.S. However, it is better to be safe by abiding by the speed limit in Arkansas as it will not only cost you less in fines and potential points on your license, but it can help save yourself and others from unnecessary accidents.
The Arkansas Department of Transportation has established the safest speed limits to travel in specific areas of the state. The different speed limits highlight the fastest speeds you are legally allowed to drive when conditions and visibility are good.
Here are the Arkansas speed limits:
- 25 mph is the speed limit for school zones in Arkansas.
- 30 mph is the speed limit in the residential areas of the state.
- Undivided roads in Arkansas have a maximum speed limit of 60 mph.
- Divided roads in Arkansas have a maximum speed limit of 65 mph.
- Urban freeways in Arkansas have a maximum speed limit of 65.
- Urban interstates in Arkansas are 65 mph.
- Rural freeways in Arkansas are 70 mph.
- Rural interstates are 75 mph in Arkansas.
What is the Arkansas Speed Limit Increase?
In 2019, it was agreed that the Arkansas speed limit would increase to a maximum of 75 mph, which is a 5 mph increase from the previous speed limit on rural interstates. There was also an increase to the speed limit on urban interstates, from 60 to 65 mph.
We all know and are supposed to abide by the maximum speed limit and law. On the other hand, the minimum speed law states that no vehicle should be going at a speed that is so slow that it impedes the flow of traffic.
With regards to driving on the highway, the law suggests that the right-hand lane is reserved for vehicles that go at or below the minimum Arkansas speed limit. If this is not practical, the car should be as close to the right-hand side of the highway as possible.
What Fines Apply When Going Over the Arkansas Speed Limit?
Speeding tickets and fines in Arkansas are totally dependent on the circumstances of the offense:
- Your first speeding ticket within a year in Arkansas carries up to $100 in fines and/or a maximum of ten days in jail.
- A second speeding violation within a year carries up to $200 in fines and/or a maximum of 20 days in jail.
- A third Arkansas speeding violation within a year will carry up to $500 in fines and/or a maximum of six months in jail.
- When a driver gets caught exceeding the speed limit by over 15 miles per hour it is a class C misdemeanor. Convicted drivers will be looking at up to $500 in fines and a maximum of 30 days in jail.
Most traffic-related incidents can and will also lead to points being added to the driver’s record and license. Arkansas tracks these points and will suspend the driver’s license if he or she accumulates too many points over a specific period of time.
Here is the Arkansas speeding ticket and motor offense points system:
|Alabama Speeding Ticket Points||Total Points|
|Fleeing or eluding an officer||8|
|Failure to stop for a school bus||8|
|Leaving the scene of accident||8|
|Speeding 10 or less miles per hour over the limit||3|
|Speeding 11 to 20 miles per hour over the limit||4|
|Speeding 21 to 30 miles per hour over the limit||5|
|Speeding 31 or more miles per hour over the limit||8|
|Unlisted moving violation||3|
When relocating to Arkansas, or just simply visiting on vacation, there is a multitude of fun things to do and places to see. However, knowing and adhering to the Arkansas speed limits is essential in order for you to avoid penalties and potential accidents.