If you are a server in New Hampshire or are considering becoming one, then you should know what the minimum wage is for servers in New Hampshire to ensure you are being paid the correct amount, or to establish if this is a job you would like to do.
The laws surrounding the New Hampshire minimum wage for servers act as a safety net for those that may not earn enough in tips to meet the minimum wage threshold in the state.
Servers that provide and serve their customers with food and beverages in a restaurant or similar type of business where food and drinks are brought to the table will typically receive tips (gratuities) for doing so.
New Hampshire servers usually rely less on their low hourly wage and more on the generosity of the guests they serve for their paycheck each week.
New Hampshire Server Minimum Wage 2023
So, what is the minimum wage for a server in New Hampshire? The minimum cash wage for servers in New Hampshire is the same as the tipped minimum wage in New Hampshire, which is $3.26 per hour.
This is the minimum per hour that a New Hampshire server must be paid and that a New Hampshire employer must pay its servers.
As you can see from the following graphic, the minimum wage for servers in New Hampshire has not increased over the past several years.
Server Minimum Wage in New Hampshire (Cash Wage and Tip Credits)
$3.26 per hour may sound like a small amount to be paid an hour, but if tips are not sufficient enough New Hampshire servers are required to be supplemented by their employers via “tipped credit”, which is, in New Hampshire’s case, $3.99 per hour, making the server minimum wage in New Hampshire a total of $7.25 per hour.
The regular minimum wage in New Hampshire for all types of employees follows the federal minimum wage guidelines, and it has been this way since 2008.
Based on the tipped minimum wage laws that apply to all states, New Hampshire employers are required to pay their employees an hourly minimum cash wage with the addition of tip credits.
What tipped credits allow employers to do is pay tipped employees less than the minimum wage so long as they can make up the difference via tips per hour during each pay period.
Tip credit not only allows server employees to be paid less than the minimum hourly wage, but it is also the same concept with bartenders, hotel workers, airport attendants, and pretty much any job role where tips are the primary income for the employee.
In New Hampshire, servers must be paid a base minimum cash wage of $3.26 per hour. The expectation is that New Hampshire servers will make at least an additional $3.99 per hour or more in tips on average across their pay period, and if they do, then the employer is only obligated to pay a New Hampshire server $3.26 per hour.
Let’s assume that a server does not make at least $3.99 per hour in cumulative tips as an average over the course of a working week or pay period (usually two weeks), then the employer must step in and pay the New Hampshire server a tip credit of up to $3.99 per hour, so the server makes a minimum of $7.25 per hour for the duration of the week or pay period they worked.
Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) and Tipped Employees
The Federal Fair Labor Standards Act, also known as the FLSA, is a federal law from the U.S. Department of Labor.
This law establishes a national minimum wage, defines classifications for employees, and covers other essential standards and requirements for employers.
Federal law requires that employers make tipped employees aware of the cash wage paid (currently, the national direct hourly salary is $2.13 per hour), let them know about the tip credit, and explain any tip pooling systems at the workplace.
Because New Hampshire’s minimum wage rate is higher than the federal minimum wage rate, the state laws supersede the federal regulations.
New Hampshire Server Minimum Wage History
The table below showcases the current rate and history of the New Hampshire server minimum wage over the past 15+ years since 2008.
You can see when there were increases in the server minimum wage, which includes not only the tipped minimum wage rates but the tipped credit rates too.
|State||Tipped Server Wage||Tip Credit||Total|
|New Hampshire server minimum wage 2023||$3.26||$3.99||$7.25|
|New Hampshire server minimum wage 2022||$3.26||$3.99||$7.25|
|New Hampshire server minimum wage 2021||$3.26||$3.99||$7.25|
|New Hampshire server minimum wage 2020||$3.26||$3.99||$7.25|
|New Hampshire server minimum wage 2019||$3.26||$3.99||$7.25|
|New Hampshire server minimum wage 2018||$3.26||$3.99||$7.25|
|New Hampshire server minimum wage 2017||$3.26||$3.99||$7.25|
|New Hampshire server minimum wage 2016||$3.26||$3.99||$7.25|
|New Hampshire server minimum wage 2015||$3.26||$3.99||$7.25|
|New Hampshire server minimum wage 2014||$3.26||$3.99||$7.25|
|New Hampshire server minimum wage 2013||$3.26||$3.99||$7.25|
|New Hampshire server minimum wage 2012||$3.26||$3.99||$7.25|
|New Hampshire server minimum wage 2011||$3.26||$3.99||$7.25|
|New Hampshire server minimum wage 2010||$3.26||$3.99||$7.25|
|New Hampshire server minimum wage 2009||$3.26||$3.99||$7.25|
|New Hampshire server minimum wage 2008||$3.55||$3.60||$7.25|
Average Server Salary in New Hampshire (2023)
If you are a server or are looking to work as a server in a restaurant or similar service-related business in New Hampshire, knowing what you can expect to earn above the minimum wage is important.
Most New Hampshire servers are not going to take a position at a restaurant with the view that they can only earn $7.25 per hour, because based on working 35-40 hours a week, they would only earn $254-$290 per week.
What Do Servers Get Paid in New Hampshire?
The average server hourly wage in New Hampshire (according to the job website Indeed.com) is $16.25 per hour. So, if you were to work an 8-hour shift or a total of 8 hours in a day across a couple of shifts, you could earn (on average) about $130 (8 hrs x $16.25). If you worked five days per week at $130.00 per day, then you could earn about $650 per week.
If you took just two weeks off a year and worked for 50 weeks you could earn $32,500. If you decided to take 3 weeks off per year, or a total amount of time that was the equivalent of about 3 weeks off, then you could earn 49 x $650 = $31,850 for the year. This, of course, is before taxes, but in New Hampshire, there is no income tax, it is 0%.
The above calculations are just averages to give you an idea of what you can earn as an New Hampshire server. As a server in NH, you can earn more than this per hour, or you could earn less, it really depends on where you work.
The most important aspects of how much you can earn will depend on how good you are at your job, what type of food/beverage establishment you work at, and how busy the restaurant/cafe or bar is.
Also many people that work at restaurants or similar establishments are willing to work more than 40-hours per week which may make them qualify for overtime pay.
If the average food item on the menu is $10-$15 and the restaurant mainly serves wings, burgers, subs, nachos, fries, and similar snack-style food, then the average check for each guest or table will not be that high, and therefore, the percentage tip against the total check will result in you earning a lower amount of tips per table you serve and you’ll have to serve many tables during your shift.
On the other hand, if you work at a finer dining restaurant or one that is really busy and serves steak, seafood, and other higher-priced menu and beverage items ($30-$40 range), then you stand to earn more money as the total check for each table you serve will be that much higher and the percentage tip you receive on a higher check will be that much more.
Perhaps the most important takeaway from this is that, as a New Hampshire employer, it is your responsibility to pay your servers a minimum hourly rate + tip credit that equals or surpasses the New Hampshire minimum wage in the event that your servers do not earn enough to meet the $7.25 per hour threshold.
Failing to do so will be breaking federal and state laws. Equally, it is important that as a server working in New Hampshire, you know your rights and how much you should be paid with your hourly wage and tip credits.
If you have specific questions about the laws surrounding the minimum wage for servers in New Hampshire (tipped employees) from both an employer and employee perspective, you can contact the New Hampshire Department of Labor. Additionally, if you are an employee who isn’t being paid what you legally should be, you can file a complaint with them too.