Utah State Minimum Wage 2024

Author: Jason Coles

Updated On:

Updated On:

As it stands, 2024 has seen no immediate change to the minimum wage in Utah. Much like in previous years, Utah’s min wage has remained the same as the federal minimum wage – $7.25 per hour. The U.S. minimum wage is the lowest hourly, daily, or monthly wage that businesses may legally pay to employees or workers.

Will the Minimum Wage in Utah Increase in the future? 

Like many other states, there have been multiple talks over the minimum wage in Utah increasing incrementally over the next seven years or so. There are a couple of bills that have been pre-filled, but unfortunately, there has been nothing officially confirmed yet and no new legislation is due to be enacted.

The overall plan is to try and raise the minimum wage in Utah over the next seven years to $15 per hour. Many people feel it is unrealistic to more than double the Utah state minimum wage within 7 years, so it may be some time before workers in Utah see an increase in their pay.

Did the Utah Minimum Wage Go Up?

The graphic below highlights the Utah state minimum wage over the past several years. The minimum wage did not go up and remains at $7.25 per hour in 2024.

Utah minimum wage

Utah Minimum Wage Employee & Employer Information

The Utah state minimum wage has not increased since 2009, the minimum wage is the same as 21 other states that all follow the federal minimum wage of $7.25 per hour. The federal min wage has not changed since 2009 either.

The Utah Labor Commission enforces the minimum wage in Utah – $7.25 per hour. Should you have any concerns, or questions, or need clarity on the Utah minimum wage in 2024 as an employer or employee, feel free to visit their website and make an inquiry.

The focus of the Utah Antidiscrimination and Labor Division (UALD) Wage Claim Unit is to administer and enforce certain State labor laws.

Also, you can view and download the Utah minimum wage labor law poster for 2024 here at no charge. Employers must display an official poster outlining the requirements of the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA), ensuring that accurate employee time and pay records are kept.

Utah Minimum Wage History

The table below shows the current rate and history of Utah’s minimum wage over the past 40+ years since 1983. You can see when there were increases in the minimum wage, how much they were, and what percentage increase it represents each year.

YearMinimum WageIncrease ($)Increase (%)
2024$7.25$00%
2023$7.25$00%
2022$7.25$00%
2021$7.25$00%
2020$7.25$00%
2019$7.25$00%
2018$7.25$00%
2017$7.25$00%
2016$7.25$00%
2015$7.25$00%
2014$7.25$00%
2013$7.25$00%
2012$7.25$00%
2011$7.25$00%
2010$7.25$00%
2009$7.25$0.7011%
2008$6.55$0.7011.96%
2007$5.85$0.7013.59%
2006$5.15$00%
2005$5.15$00%
2004$5.15$00%
2003$5.15$00%
2002$5.15$00%
2001$5.15$00%
2000$5.15$00%
1999$5.15$00%
1998$5.15$00%
1997$5.15$0.408.42%
1996$4.75$0.5011.76%
1995$4.25$00%
1994$4.25$00%
1993$4.25$00%
1992$4.25$00%
1991$4.25$0.4511.84%
1990$3.80$0.4513.43%
1989$3.35$00%
1988$3.35$00%
1987$3.35$00%
1986$3.35$00%
1985$3.35$00%
1984$3.35$00%
1983$3.35$00%

Utah Minimum Wage Exemptions

In addition to the regular minimum wage rate, there are a few Utah state minimum wage exemptions that typically depend on your age or employment situation. Below are the various minimum wage exemptions with some situational examples.

Utah Student Minimum Wage

The minimum wage for student employees in Utah is 85% of the Utah minimum wage, making their hourly pay $6.16 per hour in 2024.

This hourly rate is for any hours worked up to 20 hours per week. As a student employee, once you surpass 20 hours per week, you will be eligible to be paid the Utah minimum wage rate of $7.25 per hour.

Being a student can be financially challenging, leading many students to pick up part-time jobs to make extra money while studying. Despite a student minimum wage rate, many Utah employers will not necessarily follow it and pay you equal to or more than the statewide minimum wage.

Many work-study programs are available at universities, which is a route many students go down. Still, coffee shop, cafe, bar, and restaurant jobs are commonly taken by students as they can work them into their class schedule.

Utah Under 20 Minimum Wage

If you are under 20 years old in Utah, federal law allows your employer to pay you as little as $4.25 per hour for your first 90 days of employment.

Once the 90-day period is over, you will be eligible to be paid the 2024 Utah minimum wage of $7.25 per hour or potentially even more.

Fortunately for young workers, this is 90 calendar days and not 90 working days; therefore, it can be completed relatively quickly and within about three months.

Utah Tipped Minimum Wage

If you are a tipped employee in Utah (someone who receives regular tips as a part of their job) then you are eligible to be paid a minimum wage of $2.13 per hour, with a tip credit of $5.12 per hour, ensuring that you reach the statewide minimum wage regardless if you make enough hourly tips.

Utah Overtime Minimum Wage

Once you work over 40 hours a week, you are eligible to be paid an overtime rate of 1.5 times your hourly wage for every hour you work past 40. So, the overtime minimum wage in Utah is $10.88 per hour, 1.5 times the minimum wage of $7.25 per hour.

Minimum Wage Rates for each State

Utah

Photo of author

Jason Coles

Jason Coles is the Founder of Foreign USA and its Chief Content Writer and Editor. Recognized as a prolific business plan writer by many prominent immigration attorneys in the U.S. who refer his services to their clients regularly, Jason has written over 1,350 business plans across the past 17+ years for start-up companies and franchises looking to expand their footprint in the United States. Jason is considered a seasoned expert in his field. He creates detailed business plans for his clients that include five-year financial projections, market and industry analysis reports, demographic studies, organizational charts, job descriptions, employee hiring plans, and more.