Michigan State Minimum Wage

Author: Jason Coles

Updated On:

Updated On:

As a business owner or someone who has a job or is looking for a job, it is important to familiarize yourself with various aspects of the minimum wage.

If you own a business or a franchise in Michigan, or you are employed or seeking employment, knowing what the minimum wage is can be very important to make sure no laws get broken, and you are paid a fair wage.

The Michigan state minimum wage increased to $10.33 in 2024, rising from $10.10 per hour in 2023.

This represents a 2.27% increase from 2023 to 2024. Below is a graphic highlighting the Michigan minimum wage over the past several years:

Michigan minimum wage

If you are a full-time worker on Michigan state minimum wage, your earnings could be as follows:

  • Weekly Minimum Wage: $413.20 (based on a 40-hour week).
  • Yearly Minimum Wage: $21,486.40 (based on being paid 2080 hours per year).
  • This is before deducting the Michigan income tax rate.

The Michigan minimum wage rate has been boosted consistently each year since 2016 and is heading in the right direction, which in turn is pleasing workers all over the state.

Although 2021 has disappointed many employees around the state due to the minimum wage not increasing as it was indicated, the wage did increase in 2022, 2023, and 2024 remaining significantly higher than the federal wage and many other states!

This page has the latest information on the minimum wage, but if you wish to find out more details on the Michigan state laws and regulations for 2024, take a look at the Michigan Government’s minimum wage labor law poster on their website (LARA).

Michigan Minimum Wage History

The table below shows the current rate and history of Michigan’s minimum wage over the past 40+ years since 1983.

You can see when there were increases in the minimum wage, how much they were, and what percentage increase it represents each year.

YearMinimum WageIncrease ($)Increase (%)
2024$10.33$0.232.3%
2023$10.10$0.232.33%
2022$9.87$0.222.27%
2021$9.65$0.000%
2020$9.65$0.202.1%
2019$9.45$0.202.1%
2018$9.25$0.353.9%
2017$8.90$0.404.7%
2016$8.50$0.354.2%
2015$8.15$00%
2014$8.15$0.7510%
2013$7.40$00%
2012$7.40$00%
2011$7.40$00%
2010$7.40$00%
2009$7.40$00%
2008$7.40$00%
2007$7.15$0.202.87%
2006$6.95$1.8034.95%
2005$5.15$00%
2004$5.15$00%
2003$5.15$00%
2002$5.15$00%
2001$5.15$00%
2000$5.15$00%
1999$5.15$00%
1998$5.15$0.408.42%
1997$4.75$1.4041.79%
1996$3.35$00%
1995$3.35$00%
1994$3.35$00%
1993$3.35$00%
1992$3.35$00%
1991$3.35$00%
1990$3.35$00%
1989$3.35$00%
1988$3.35$00%
1987$3.35$00%
1986$3.35$00%
1985$3.35$00%
1984$3.35$00%
1983$3.35$00%

Michigan Minimum Wage Exemptions

In addition to the regular minimum wage rate, there are a few Michigan state minimum wage exemptions that typically depend on your age or employment situation.

Below are the various minimum wage exemptions with some situational examples.

Michigan Student Minimum Wage

The minimum wage for student employees in Michigan is 85% of the Michigan minimum wage, making their hourly pay $8.78 per hour in 2024.

This hourly rate is for any hours worked up to 20 hours per week. As a student employee, once you surpass 20 hours per week, you will be eligible to be paid the Michigan minimum wage rate of $10.33 per hour.

Being a student can be financially challenging, leading many students to pick up part-time jobs to make extra money while studying. Despite a student minimum wage rate, many Michigan employers will not necessarily follow it and pay you equal to or more than the statewide minimum wage.

Many work-study programs are available at universities, which is a route many students go down. Still, coffee shop, cafe, bar, and restaurant jobs are commonly taken by students as they can work them into their class schedule.

Michigan Under 20 Minimum Wage

If you are under 20 years old in Michigan, federal law allows your employer to pay you as little as $4.25 per hour for your first 90 days of employment.

Once the 90-day period is over, you will be eligible to be paid the 2024 Michigan minimum wage of $10.33 per hour or potentially even more.

Fortunately for young workers, this is 90 calendar days and not 90 working days; therefore, it can be completed relatively quickly and within about three months.

Michigan Tipped Minimum Wage

If you are a tipped employee in Michigan (someone who receives regular tips as a part of their job) then you are eligible to be paid a minimum wage of $3.93 per hour, with a tip credit of $6.40 per hour, ensuring that you reach the statewide minimum wage regardless if you make enough hourly tips.

Michigan Overtime Minimum Wage

Once you work over 40 hours a week, you are eligible to be paid an overtime rate of 1.5 times your hourly wage for every hour you work past 40. So, the overtime Michigan state minimum wage is $15.49 per hour, 1.5 times the minimum wage of $10.33 per hour.

Minimum Wage Rates for each State

Michigan

Photo of author

Jason Coles

Jason Coles is the Founder of Foreign USA and its Chief Content Writer and Editor. Recognized as a prolific business plan writer by many prominent immigration attorneys in the U.S. who refer his services to their clients regularly, Jason has written over 1,360 business plans across the past 17+ years for start-up companies and franchises looking to expand their footprint in the United States. Jason is considered a seasoned expert in his field. He creates detailed business plans for his clients that include five-year financial projections, market and industry analysis reports, demographic studies, organizational charts, job descriptions, employee hiring plans, and more.