Delaware State Minimum Wage

Author: Jason Coles

Updated On:

Updated On:

In 2024, the Delaware state minimum wage sits at $13.25 per hour. This minimum wage rate represents a $1.50 increase from the previous year.

It is important to keep an eye on the statewide minimum wage due to Delaware often increases the minimum wage rate multiple times a year.

It is deemed unusual for states to change their minimum wage more than once in a calendar year.

However, it seems to be becoming a more common occurrence with the same happening to the Minimum Wage in Connecticut, as it also changed more than once in a calendar year.

Related: Connecticut Minimum Wage

As an employer in Delaware, keeping track of what you should be paying your employees, and remaining compliant with the state’s labor laws is incredibly important.

Equally, if you are an employee in Delaware, knowing how much you are required to be paid at a minimum is crucial information to be aware of.

Here’s what you would earn as a full-time employee being paid the minimum wage in Delaware:

  • Daily Minimum Wage: $106.00 (based on an 8-hour working day).
  • Weekly Minimum Wage: $530.00 (based on a 40-hour week).
  • Monthly Minimum Wage: $2,296.66 (based on a full-time month).
  • Yearly Minimum Wage: $27,560.00 (based on being paid 52 weeks per year).

Despite changing the minimum wage a couple of times a year, Delaware also has a history of keeping the same minimum wage rate over prolonged periods.

Between the years of 2009 and 2014, the minimum wage remained at $7.25 per hour, until increasing to $8.25 per hour, only to then remain at $8.25 per hour for 4 more years until 2019.

However, it was in 2019 when the minimum wage increased not once, but twice, totaling a whole dollar increase in less than a year. As it currently stands, Delaware has one of the highest minimum wage rates in the United States.

Related: Highest US Minimum Wage States

The graphic below highlights the Delaware minimum wage over the past several years:

Delaware state minimum wage 2024

Now, the minimum wage that we have discussed is not the only rate that minimum wage employees are subjected to.

There are several exemptions to the minimum wage that take into account a whole host of different factors.

Delaware Minimum Wage Exemptions 2024

In addition to the regular minimum wage rate, there are a few minimum wage exemptions that typically depend on your age or employment situation.

Below are the various minimum wage exemptions with some situational examples.

Delaware Student Minimum Wage

The minimum wage for student employees in Delaware is 85% of the Delaware state minimum wage, making their hourly pay $11.26 per hour in 2024.

This hourly rate is for any hours worked up to 20 hours per week. As a student employee, once you surpass 20 hours per week, you will be eligible to be paid the Delaware minimum wage rate of $13.25 per hour.

Being a student can be financially challenging, leading many students to pick up part-time jobs to make extra money while studying.

Despite a student minimum wage rate, many Delaware employers will not necessarily follow it and pay you equal to or more than the statewide minimum wage.

Many work-study programs are available at universities, which is a route many students go down. Still, coffee shop, cafe, bar, and restaurant jobs are commonly taken by students as they can work them into their class schedule.

Delaware Under 20 Minimum Wage

If you are under 20 years old in Delaware, federal law allows your employer to pay you as little as $4.25 per hour for your first 90 days of employment.

Once the 90-day period is over, you will be eligible to be paid the 2024 Delaware minimum wage of $13.25 per hour or potentially even more.

Fortunately for young workers, this is 90 calendar days and not 90 working days; therefore, it can be completed relatively quickly and within about three months.

Delaware Tipped Minimum Wage

If you are a tipped employee in Delaware (someone who receives regular tips as a part of their job) then you are eligible to be paid a minimum wage of $2.23 per hour, with a tip credit of $11.02 per hour, ensuring that you reach the statewide minimum wage regardless if you make enough hourly tips.

Related: Delaware Tipped Minimum Wage

Delaware Overtime Minimum Wage

Once you work over 40 hours a week, you are eligible to be paid an overtime rate of 1.5 times your hourly wage for every hour you work past 40.

So, the overtime minimum wage in Delaware is $19.87 per hour, 1.5 times the minimum wage of $13.25 per hour.

Other Delaware Minimum Wage Exemptions Via Industry/Job Roles

In case you are affiliated with one of the following industries or job roles, you will be exempt from the Delaware minimum wage:

  • Employees working in Agriculture.
  • Employees in domestic service or working for private homes.
  • U.S. Government employees.
  • Outside commission-paid salespeople.
  • Bonafide executives, administrators, and professionals.
  • Employees involved in fishing and fish processing.
  • Volunteer workers.
  • Delaware tipped employees (those who earn tips as part of their wage).
  • Summer camp or Junior camp employees.

Delaware Minimum Wage History

The table below shows the current rate and history of Delaware’s minimum wage over the past 40+ years since 1983.

You can see when there were increases in the minimum wage, how much they were, and what percentage increase it represents each year.

YearMinimum WageIncrease ($)Increase (%)
2024$13.25$1.5012.76%
2023$11.75$1.2511.9%
2022$10.50$0.252.4%
2021$10.25$1.0010.8%
2020$9.25$0.505.7%
2019$8.75$0.506%
2018$8.25$00%
2017$8.25$00%
2016$8.25$00%
2015$8.25$0.506.4%
2014$7.75$0.506.9%
2013$7.25$00%
2012$7.25$00%
2011$7.25$00%
2010$7.25$00%
2009$7.25$0.101.4%
2008$7.15$00%
2007$6.65$0.508.13%
2006$6.15$00%
2005$6.15$00%
2004$6.15$00%
2003$6.15$00%
2002$6.15$00%
2001$6.15$00%
2000$6.15$0.508.84%
1999$5.65$0.509.7%
1998$5.15$00%
1997$5.15$0.408.42%
1996$4.75$0.5011.76%
1995$4.25$00%
1994$4.25$00%
1993$4.25$00%
1992$4.25$00%
1991$4.25$0.4511.84%
1990$3.80$0.4513.43%
1989$3.35$00%
1988$3.35$00%
1987$3.35$0.3511.66%
1986$3.00$00%
1985$3.00$00%
1984$3.00$00%
1983$3.00$00%

Delaware Labor Law Poster and Department of Labor Contact Details

As a Delaware employer, you need to keep yourself compliant with the law. To do this, you need to display a Delaware Labor Law poster in a prominent place.

The good news is that you can acquire one of these posters for free from the Department of Labor website, and download the poster.

If you wish to contact the department directly, here are all of the contact details you need:

Department of Labor
4425 N Market St, Wilmington,
DE 19802, USA
Telephone: +1 302-761-8001
Email: DUI_BPC_CC_Support@delaware.gov

Minimum Wage Rates for each State

Delaware

Photo of author

Jason Coles

Jason Coles is the Founder of Foreign USA and its Chief Content Writer and Editor. Recognized as a prolific business plan writer by many prominent immigration attorneys in the U.S. who refer his services to their clients regularly, Jason has written over 1,365 business plans across the past 17+ years for start-up companies and franchises looking to expand their footprint in the United States. Jason is considered a seasoned expert in his field. He creates detailed business plans for his clients that include five-year financial projections, market and industry analysis reports, demographic studies, organizational charts, job descriptions, employee hiring plans, and more.