The Land of Opportunity is probably not the first place you would think of in the U.S. that offers a fantastic quality of life. However, this beautiful southern state has a lot more to offer than many might assume.
If you can put the beautiful forests, gorgeous landscapes, and accommodating locals to one side, you have a state that is becoming more and more attractive for those looking to register a business in Arkansas due to its fast-growing economy and business climate.
The question is: How much does it cost to register a business in Arkansas, and the answer is – not much at all! Sure, it is not the very cheapest state to register a business in, but it is certainly one of the cheapest ones, by comparison.
Let’s get right into the upfront costs to register a company in Arkansas, whether that be an LLC, an Incorporated company, a partnership, a non-profit, or any other type of company or sole proprietor.
What is the cost to register a business in Arkansas?
One of the two different types of companies (most common) you may wish to form when starting and registering a business in Arkansas are:
- Arkansas Limited Liability Company (LLC)
- Arkansas Incorporated Company (Inc.)
Of course, there are other types of structures such as sole proprietorship, a limited or general partnership, and non-profit, but the most common two are the limited liability company and corporation.
When it comes to registering your company in the U.S., it is important to be aware that the registration and renewal costs differ depending on which state you decide to register in. The type of business structure you decide on will also determine the specific costs.
If you would like to pay for the services of a formation and business filing services company to register your Arkansas business the right way, they can do it for an affordable fee that ensures it is done properly and all the correct documents are filed according to the law. They will also take care of all the after-formation procedures so your business is compliant with Arkansas law and legally registered.
How much does it cost to register a company in Arkansas?
- Arkansas LLC Initial Registration: $45
- Arkansas Corporation Initial Registration: $45
- Arkansas Non-Profit Initial Registration: $50
- Foreign LLC Initial Registration: $270
(this is so an out-of-state LLC can obtain foreign qualification to do business in Arkansas)
- Foreign Corporation Initial Registration: $270
(this is so an out-of-state Inc. can obtain foreign qualification to do business in Arkansas)
- Limited Partnership (LP) Initial Registration: $50
- Limited Liability Partnership (LLP) Initial Registration: $50
- Sole Proprietorship Initial Registration: There is no set registration fee and it varies based on the type of sole proprietor business you are setting up. Here is more information.
The costs to register a business in Arkansas noted above are the total fees you must pay but do not include several optional fees that are offered by the Arkansas Secretary of State. For example, when you file for a domestic corporation in Arkansas, you will have the option to fill in a DN-01 online or paper form, the paper form will cost you an additional $5.
How much does it cost to renew a company in Arkansas?
According to Arkansas law, any company, or business entity wishing to continue doing business in the state of Arkansas must file an annual report. Annual reports usually include information such as a letter from the CEO, financial and tax information, objectives and goals for future years, and performance highlights, some business types will include a fee along with the required documents, whereas some will not.
Annual Fees to renew your business in Arkansas:
- Annual Fee for an LLC in Arkansas: $0
- Annual Fee for a Corporation in Arkansas: $0
- Annual Fee for an Arkansas Non-Profit: $0
- Annual Fee for a Limited Partnership (LP): $0
- Annual Fee for a Limited Liability Partnership (LLP): $15
- Annual Fee for a Limited Liability Limited Partnership (LLLP): $15
The above annual reporting fees for businesses are the minimum you must pay, and there are optional fees and additional state fees a business entity may need to pay should you wish to make changes during the year, rather than when your annual renewal is filed.
Other Arkansas Corporations Division Filing Fees
As a business owner or soon-to-be owner of an Arkansas company, you should be aware of the other various fees that are charged by the Secretary of State.
- Application of Amended Certificate of Authority: $300
- Articles of Conversion: $0 online ($50 paper)
- Certificate of Dissolution: $50 (Learn how to Dissolve an Arkansas Business)
- Certificate of Merger: $100
- Articles of Revocation or Dissolution: $150
- Name Reservation: $25
- Resignation of Registered Agent: No Fee
- Articles of Correction: $30
One of the most important fees to remember is the late filing fee. In Arkansas, they impose a late fee if you file your annual report after May 1st of each year, however, you can file this fee earlier, to avoid any last-minute stress. The state fee is an additional $25.
Arkansas Secretary of State Mailing Address and Contact Information
Secretary of State
Suite 250, Victory Building
1401 West Capitol Avenue
Little Rock, AR 72201
Hours: 8:00 a.m. – 5 p.m. CDT
If certain changes are made by an LLC, Corporation, or Partnership throughout the year, such as amending the Articles of Organization or changing the registered agent, officers, or managing members, the Arkansas Secretary of State’s office must be notified on the appropriate form and a fee must be paid.
Here is the corporation fee schedule from the Arkansas Secretary of State, and here is the LLC fee schedule.